Committee details

Town Deal Board

Purpose of committee

About the Town Deal Board


The Town Deal Board is the vehicle to establish the Town Investment Plan for Worcester, inform the deal and coordinate the stakeholders to ensure that key local institutions, businesses and communities are involved in the development of the strategy and vision.


The Town Deal Board provides overall strategic oversight and direction in the development of a Town Investment Plan, leading to a Town Deal for Worcester. It will provide assurance to Government and to the governing bodies of Board Member organisations that the Town Investment Plan is being developed according to the requirements of Government and is within the scope of the organisational approvals established by the Board Members.


The Board shall act as an advisory body, steering the direction of the work of the Lead Council (Worcester City Council) and considering issues which require referral for further approval by Member organisations’ governing bodies and/or which have a material impact on the delivery against Government requirements.


Terms of Reference


The Board’s Terms of Reference were agreed at its first meeting on 14 January 2020 and can be viewed at Worcester City Council - Council & Democracy - Agenda for Town Deal Board on Tuesday, 14th January, 2020, 5.30 pm


Member Profiles


Craig Moule (Sanctuary)

The Chair of the Board, Craig has been with Sanctuary for over 30 years, having joined the organisation in 1989 from Coopers & Lybrand. Craig was appointed Group Chief Executive on 1 January 2019. Prior to this he was the Group’s Chief Financial Officer. While holding this position, Craig oversaw Sanctuary being the first housing association to implement a SAP enterprise solution and the formation of a Corporate Shared Service Centre. Craig is an ex-officio member of the Sanctuary Group Board.


Councillor Chris Mitchell (Worcester City Council)

Chris was appointed as Joint leader of Worcester City Council in November 2022. He is also the leader of the Conservative Group on the Council. He has represented the city’s St Clement Ward since 2011 and he has chaired the Council’s Planning Committee. Chris spent nearly 20 years in the Army before venturing into the business world. He now runs his own business in the defence and aerospace industry. He also has a recruiting arm to his business, again focusing on the defence sector.


Councillor Lynn Denham (Worcester City Council)

Lynn is Labour Group Leader at Worcester City Council. Lynn has lived in Worcester for nearly 30 years, working as a hospital pharmacist and senior NHS manager.  She has been a Worcester City Councillor since 2012 and is involved in many community projects. She is Chair of the Friends of Fort Royal Park and Worcester Dementia Action Alliance.


The Very Reverend Peter Atkinson (Worcester Cathedral)

As the Dean of Worcester Peter is responsible for governing and directing the life and work of Worcester Cathedral, working with the rest of the Cathedral Chapter.  Before becoming Dean, he was a Residentiary Canon and Chancellor of Chichester Cathedral. He has been a vicar in a number of different parishes and Principal of Chichester Theological College. He studied theology at St. John's College, Oxford and was ordained deacon in 1979 and priest in 1980.


Sally Ellison MBE (Worcester Community Action)

Sally has over 20 years’ experience of working in the voluntary sector finishing as Chief Officer of Worcester Volunteer Centre. She has experience of project management, funding bid writing, development of policies and procedures, governance, registering charities etc. Sally also has vast experience in managing volunteers, recruiting and retaining volunteers, support & training volunteers.


Councillor Simon Geraghty (Worcestershire County Council)

Simon is Leader of Worcestershire County Council. He has a keen interest in seeing Worcestershire businesses grow and succeed and he represents the County Council on the Worcestershire Local Enterprise Partnership. Simon has been a County Councillor since 2005 and a City Councillor representing the St. Clement Ward from the year 2000.

Professor David Green CBE (University of Worcester)

David is the Vice Chancellor and Chief Executive of the University of Worcester. He has been the University’s executive head since 2003 and is accountable to the University’s Board of Governors for the strategic leadership, overall performance and management of the University. He has led Worcester to successful applications for full University title in 2005, and for Research Degree Awarding Powers in 2010.


Mohammed Iqbal (Community Representative)

Mohammed Iqbal is Secretary General of Worcester Muslim Welfare Association, a local charity based in Worcester which has been serving the local Muslim community since 1979.


Councillor Roger Knight (St Peter’s Parish Council)

Roger has lived in the city since 1991 and has served as both a Parish and a City Councillor, having been first elected in 2004. A retired retail executive, he is a former Mayor of Worcester.


Councillor Jan Scrine BEM (Warndon Parish Council)

Jan was elected to the Parish Council in 2019. A former Mayoress of Bromyard, she was awarded the British Empire Medal in 2016 for services to roadside heritage, being a founder member of the Milestone Society, where she has served as Honorary Treasurer and Chair. Jan is a well-qualified human resources professional, having held Board appointments in blue chip companies.


Gary Woodman (Worcestershire Local Enterprise Partnership)

The Chief Executive of Worcestershire LEP, Gary has a wealth of business insight and networks as well as considerable experience of Government policy and delivery. Educated at the University of Wales, Cardiff, where he obtained his degree in Leisure and Recreation Management, and the University of Gloucestershire, where he studied for his postgraduate diploma in Business Administration, he previously worked for Gloucestershire County Council’s market towns and economic development arm, then went onto become Head of Policy and Education at Herefordshire and Worcestershire Chamber of Commerce.


Robin Walker (Member of Parliament for Worcester)

Robin was first elected as the Conservative MP for Worcester in May 2010.

He was Minister of State at the Department for Education between 16 September 2021 and 6 July 2022. Previously he had served as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Exiting the European Union from 2016 to 2019, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Scotland Office and the Northern Ireland Office from July to December 2019, then Minister of State at the Northern Ireland Office from February 2020.


Nicki Williams (Heart of Worcestershire College and Worcester BID)

Nicki is a member of the Heart of Worcestershire College Executive team, working as Vice-Principal. An experienced education sector senior manager, she has strategic responsibility for Finance, HR, MIS, IT, Estates, Marketing and Learner Services, and direct operational responsibility for H&S and E&D, and a proven record in change and project management.


Register of Members’ Interests


Board Members are required to declare any disclosable pecuniary and/or non-pecuniary interests. A Register of Interests is in place for all Board Members and is available on request. Contact



Contact information

Support officer: Committee Administration 01905 722027.